The d-Infinity Independent Game Awards

d-Infinity has launched its very own awards program as a means of recognizing the accomplishments of small and medium-sized game companies. The d-Infinity Independent Game Awards (d-IIGA) are also designed to allow participants to compete among themselves rather than against vastly larger companies that have undue advantages in terms of resources, sheer numbers of titles released annually, and public visibility.Submit a Product


d-IIGA is open to any company that produces games or game accessories and which is neither publicly traded nor a subsidiary of a larger corporation that is publicly traded.

Companies can submit as many different eligible products as they want.

  1. To be eligible for submission, a product must correspond to one of the six main d-IIGA categories and have been released during the previous calendar year (e.g., released in 2016 for the 2017 awards). For the first annual awards, companies can submit any products they released during the previous two calendar years (i.e., during 2014 or 2015 for the 2016 awards). A company can, however, decide to submit only one item total and, in the event that it opts to do so, that single item can be from any previous year.

  2. Items submitted in one year can be re-submitted in subsequent years if they do not win in any categories. If an item wins any d-IIGA award, however, it cannot be re-submitted in its current form or edition.If a product wins an award one year it may be re-submitted in subsequent years if it is substantially revised (e.g., as a revised and expanded edition that has a different appearance and new ISBN and SKU).

  3. Products that are available only in PDF, eBook, or other electronic format can be submitted in those formats. Products that are available in physical form must, however, be submitted that way in order to be accepted for consideration by the d-IIGA.

  4. Companies can submit supplements they produced for use with core games owned by third-party companies even if those third-party companies are themselves not eligible to participate in the d-IIGA (e.g., supplements published under the d20 Open Game License submitted by eligible companies would be acceptable, even though they are published for use with a rules system owned by Wizards of the Coast, which is too large to participate in the independent game awards program).


The deadline for d-IIGA submissions is March 18, 2017. To be considered, a physical submission must be postmarked or otherwise verifiably shipped by the date in question and an electronic submission must be emailed or otherwise transmitted prior to midnight Central Standard Time on that date.


d-IIGA participants must pick from one of six categories for each item they submit, as listed below, based on its type.

d-Infinity and its judges reserve the right to re-categorize items that might for some reason be submitted in categories they deem to be incorrect (e.g., if a participant indicates an item is a Role-Playing Game when it is in fact a Supplement).

Categories are:

  1. Role-Playing Games

  2. Board Games

  3. Miniatures Rules

  4. Supplements

  5. Accessories (e.g., dice towers, apparel, miniatures)

A judge may not vote for more than one product from a particular company for a given category (i.e., he must select products from up to five different companies for each category).

To submit a physical product, an eligible company must send five copies of it to:
d-Infinity Independent Game Awards
c/o Michael O. Varhola
499 Mystic Parkway
Spring Branch, TX 78070
Each item submitted must be accompanied by a separate d-IIGA Submission Form .
To submit an electronic product, an eligible company can upload it using the online submissions form on the d-IIGA site. Alternately, companies may email submissions less than 25 MB in size to
Note that in making an electronic submission a company is granting permission for d-Infinity to subsequently make copies of it available to the awards program judges.


Products will be evaluated by a panel of five judges. One will be affiliated with the host convention (i.e., Comicpalooza in 2017), three will be recognized members of the game industry, and one will be the public at large.

  1. A company will not be permitted to submit anything for the d-IIGA in a particular year if one of the judges is a principal of that company or has worked for it anytime during the calendar year from which submissions are being drawn or anytime since then. In the event that a company is unable to participate because someone affiliated with it is a judge, then the following year it may include with its submissions up to two items from the calendar year for which it was previously unable to submit.

  2. d-Infinity will post online a list of all products submitted to the awards program as they are received. Judges will be allowed to work with items as they come in so as to make the process of ranking them more manageable once the cutoff date is reached.

  3. Once the cutoff date for submissions has been reached, judges will rank five products in each category with a score of 1-5. If there are fewer than five items submitted for any particular category then that smaller number is the one the judges will work with. A public vote will be accomplished by allowing individuals to vote online, giving a score of 1-5 to submissions in each category. An average score for every item that was voted on by the public will then be derived. Once the judges and public have voted, each item voted on will have the points given to it totaled.

  4. Five metallic awards will be granted in each category, with the submission receiving the highest number of points becoming a Platinum winner and those with descending numbers of points receiving Gold, Electrum, Silver, and Copper awards. In the case of ties, the four presiding judges will either allow multiple winners at a particular category level, bump one of them upward or downward, or otherwise make an appropriate decision by mutual consent.

  5. A product can only be considered in one category (and, as a result of that, can thus only win in a single category).